EU, six SADC countries sign Africa’s first EPA following more than a decade of ‘tough’ talks

June 10, 2016

Responsive image

Following more than ten years of “tough” negotiation, the European Union (EU) and six Southern African countries, including South Africa, signed an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) in Botswana on Friday, June 10. The deal seeks to build on an existing €60-billion-a-year trade relationship, with the six Southern African Development Community (SADC) countries exporting around €30-billion yearly to the 28 countries of the EU, mostly in the form of metals and minerals.

Category: General